The Whispering of Lambent Feathers

My own kind of Oz

Wonderland

wonderland

 I had so much fun making Door in the Woods I made another, smaller (5×7) canvas afterwards.  This time I didn’t use a photo as the starting background.  I made the background with melted crayons alone, then added the collaged elements on top, added more wax, etc until Iwas happy with what I had. 

The theme for this piece ended up being a homage to Alice in Wonderland, because after I altered the picture of the little girl and wax-adhered it to the canvas I thought that Alice might have looked like that in real life, and because I’m a huge fan of Alice.  I see alot of myself in Alice, an awful lot.  It’s no wonder I have such a strong affinity for her.  So with that idea in mind, I began to add a few pivotal characters from Wonderland.  My favorite character is the worm that smokes the hookah, but I couldn’t find the image I wanted so I did without.  But I did get the Mad Hatter and the Cheshire Cat in there.  The rabbit was a must, and I was lucky to find a good image of him. 

February 4, 2007 - Posted by | altered art, collage, mixed media

4 Comments »

  1. this is going to make a great series of art

    Comment by AscenderRisesAbove | February 28, 2007

  2. welcome to WOLF, and thank you so much! I’m glad you like my art!

    Comment by cookala | February 28, 2007

  3. so beautiful!!!

    Comment by melanie | March 6, 2007

  4. thanks!

    Comment by Eileen Grobeck | June 25, 2007


Leave a Reply

