The Whispering of Lambent Feathers

My own kind of Oz

Door in the Woods

door in the woods

This is an 8×10 canvas panel with collage, bees wax, crayons and markers.   I’ve been wanting to try incorporating wax (bees and crayons)  into my collages for some time now so today I finally sat down and got busy.  I really like the translucent quality of the wax, and how you can create textures and blends of colors. 

As far as the theme goes, it wasn’t planned.  I wanted to do something with a door and I had a photograph I’d taken on a foggy day recently that I thought would make an ethereal, interesting background.  Well, that’s how it started.  I printed the photo on paper in 6×8 size, then I went over the trees with wax, but the white fog areas have been replaces by melted crayon and collaged images.  So the photograph ended up becoming non-existent, except for the trees. 

 I like combining my photography with found images – the photos give me a starting point for mood and possible theme.  Thing is, even when I plan out an art piece it rarely ends up with the original vision I had for it.  This piece was an exception – almost.  As I started adding the collaged elements, the piece seemed to take on a life of its own.  I find that happens alot when I make art.  And many times, there is that moment of serendipity when I find an unexpected element to add that becomes a new focal point, like the small child I placed over the woman’s right eye.  I love it when things like that happen, it’s the coolest thing.

February 4, 2007 - Posted by | assemblage, collage, mixed media

2 Comments »

  1. I so love this piece (I faved it over at deviantART 😉 )!!! I have a thing for doors, trees, keys, text, and faces…this has them all. I especially love the ethereal quality the beeswax gives it. Wonderful!!!

    Comment by Paulette | April 15, 2007

  2. wow, thank you so much! and please forgive my dated reply! been ages since I checked in here.

    Comment by Eileen Grobeck | June 25, 2007


Leave a Reply

